I Got Kicked Out of the Military for Being Suicidal. Here’s Why I Never Told Anyone.

Emily Stroia
8 min readApr 1, 2019
Author.

Once upon a time I was a photojournalist for the United State Navy.

I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

I just wanted to get out.

I wanted to get away from my abusive family.

I wanted to forget everything that ever happened.

I wanted to wipe the slate clean and start over.

And honestly I didn’t have many options.

Based on the circumstances, the Navy seemed like the best deal a girl like me could get.

I was emancipated at sixteen and lived with a foster family until I left for the Navy.

According to the state of Virginia my parents were unfit to be parents.

After a year of mandated family therapy and social services raiding our house with counselors my parents released custody rights of me and I moved out.

I considered college but it was too expensive.

I didn’t have boku money. And nobody else was paying for it.

--

--

Emily Stroia

Psych therapist in training. I write about mental health, trauma, well-being, and spirituality. Stay for a while. www.emilystroia.com